Advertisement feature — this page is published by Scentech.
Buying guide 2026 · updated 9 September 2026
Essential oils diffuser 2026: 7 electric diffusers compared for UK homes
In the strict sense an essential oils diffuser is an ultrasonic machine: a small tank of water, two or three drops of oil, a cool mist. Five of the seven here are exactly that, and every one of them is ranked on figures their makers publish - stated room size, run time per fill, price per millilitre. The two at the top are not: they take sealed pods of blended fragrance oil and will never accept an essential oil. Compared on published specifications and public customer reviews; we run no laboratory tests.

February, six in the evening, and the front door opens on the smell of whatever was cooked at half past five. In the corner of the sitting room a small ceramic machine has long since stopped: it was filled with a tank of water and three drops of oil the night before, misted for three-quarters of an hour and switched itself off, and nobody has walked past it since. The bottle it was dosed from is still on the shelf above, two thirds full, bought in good faith about eighteen months ago.
That gap is what this guide is about. The question people type is which essential oils diffuser to buy. The question they usually mean is how to make a home smell of one thing, all evening, without having to think about it. Those have different answers, so the seven machines below are ranked on the figures that decide the second one: the room size a maker will commit to in print, the decibels, how long the thing runs before somebody has to do something, and what a millilitre of whatever goes in it costs.
The shop behind our number one holds 4.7 on Trustpilot (281 reviews, September 2026), a score that belongs to the company rather than to any one machine. That company also publishes this page. About this site says so in its opening line, and How we compare lists the seven criteria and their weights before a single product is named.
Our pick 2026
Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro - about £193 on its own (converted at checkout, September 2026), or free from nine scents.
- Up to 100 m² on the manufacturer's specification table, against 20 m² from the only water-tank machine here that commits to a figure at all
- 39.5 dB, whisper-quiet, with a rechargeable battery Scentech states at up to four days, so it can stand where the scent needs to start rather than where the socket is
- A 65 ml pod is £27.00, or £0.42 a millilitre, and Scentech states one to three months per pod: about £13.50 a month at the maker's own example of twelve hours a day on a medium setting
Said plainly, because it decides whether this is your machine at all: the Pro is not an essential oils diffuser in the strict sense. It runs sealed 65 ml pods of blended fragrance oil made for it, it will not take the lavender in your cupboard, and another brand's oil puts it outside the one-year warranty. If choosing single-note oils is half the pleasure, buy number three instead and enjoy it.
Buying tip: in Scentech's Home Reset Sale a diffuser is added free from five scents, and the number of scents decides which one - a Mystery Scent at three, the Diffuser Lite at five, the Diffuser 2 at seven, this Pro at nine. It is added automatically only when the order goes through the offer page. Pounds appear only when the shop is switched to the United Kingdom, and they are a conversion of a euro price rather than a British price list, so the figure at checkout is the one that counts.
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech
At a glance
| Model | Best for | Water or no water | Stated coverage | Stated run time per fill | What may go in it, and per ml | Price (Sept 2026) | Rating (source, n) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro | An open-plan floor, or a hall that has to feed two rooms | No water; cold-air diffusion | up to 100 m² (manufacturer) | a pod lasts one to three months; battery up to four days off the mains | Scentech pods only, £0.42 per ml | about £193 (free from 9 scents) | 4.7 (Trustpilot, 281) |
| Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 | A sitting room open to the kitchen, up to 65 m² | No water; cold-air diffusion | up to 65 m² (manufacturer) | a pod lasts one to three months; mains only | Scentech pods only, £0.42 per ml | about £132 (free from 7 scents) | 4.7 (Trustpilot, 281) |
| Beurer LA 40 Aroma Electric Diffuser LED Table Lamp | A bedside table, with a room size you can read before you buy | Water; ultrasonic | up to 20 m² (retailer) | continuous, or a 1, 3 or 7-hour timer on a 180 ml tank | water-soluble aroma oil; loose essential oil £0.50-£1.28 per ml | £39.99 (John Lewis) | 4.5 (John Lewis, 35) |
| John Lewis Electric Diffuser | Buying, and returning, in a shop | Water; ultrasonic | not stated | "Up to 45 minutes" on a 100 ml fill (retailer) | any essential oil, 2-3 drops per fill; £0.50-£1.28 per ml | £50.00 (John Lewis) | 4.2 (John Lewis, 103) |
| Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffuser | The longest stated mist from one fill | Water; ultrasonic | not stated | "4 to 5 hours of continuous mist" on 100 ml (brand) | essential oil; Tisserand oils £12.00 a bottle on the same shop | £43.00 (tisserand.com) | 4.6 (Yotpo on tisserand.com, 11) |
| Stoneglow Modern Classics Perfume Mist Electric Diffuser | Refilling four or five times a year instead of nightly | The retailer does not say | not stated | "Up to 10 weeks" on 15 ml of oil (retailer) | Stoneglow's own oil, £11.00 per 15 ml, £0.73 per ml | £65.00 (John Lewis) | 4.3 (John Lewis, 13) |
| John Lewis Speckled Ceramic Electric Diffuser | A piece of pottery that also scents a room | Water; ultrasonic | not stated | "Up to 45 minutes" on a 100 ml fill (retailer) | any essential oil; the retailer says occasional household use only | £55.00 (John Lewis) | 5.0 (John Lewis, 1) |
Two of the seven rows are made by the company that publishes this page, which is unusual in a comparison table and worth saying out loud rather than burying in a footnote: they are there because they win the criteria set out on How we compare, and the row above names the one thing about them that rules them out for a lot of people. Scentech's pound prices are Shopify's live conversion of a euro price rather than a UK price list, so they drift with the exchange rate and ours carry the month they were read. Every other price and rating on this page came from John Lewis & Partners, tisserand.com and Holland & Barrett on 9 September 2026.
The seven electric diffusers, ranked
- 1Best overall

Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro
about £193 (converted at checkout, September 2026)
9.2/10 Score
Pros
- Up to 100 m² on the manufacturer specification table, five times the only stated coverage figure any water-tank machine here publishes
- 39.5 dB, whisper-quiet; no competitor on this page publishes a decibel figure at all
- A rechargeable battery stated at up to four days, so it can sit on a hall shelf with no cable running down the wall
- A touchscreen on the device as well as the Bluetooth app, so it can be turned down by somebody who has installed nothing
- No water anywhere: no tank to fill, nothing to empty, no limescale
- Added free at nine scents when the order goes through the Scentech offer page
Cons
- Not an essential oils diffuser: sealed Scentech pods of blended fragrance oil only, and any other oil takes it outside the one-year warranty
- About £193 converted at checkout in September 2026, nearly five times the price of the cheapest machine here
- In one sitting room with the door shut, 100 m² is reach the room cannot use, and at a 2 kg shipping weight it is the heaviest of the three Scentech models
Who it is for. Houses where the doors have come off. A ground floor that runs kitchen to dining to sitting room, a Victorian hall that carries whatever is in the air up two flights, a flat with one long room and the only free socket at the wrong end of it. Up to 100 m² on the manufacturer's specification table is the largest reach claimed anywhere on this page, and the battery - Scentech states up to four days - means the machine can stand where the scent needs to start.
Why it is first. It wins the two criteria we weight most heavily, on published figures rather than on charm. Stated coverage: 100 m², against 20 m² from the one water-tank machine that commits to a number and silence from the other four. Running unattended: four days on a battery and a schedule set once, against a tank that empties in three-quarters of an hour. It also takes noise, where 39.5 dB is the only published figure in the set, and cost per millilitre, where £0.42 sits under every loose essential oil we priced. It loses points on price and on its refill rule, and still comes first.
What you give up. Choice. This is not an essential oils diffuser: it takes Scentech's sealed 65 ml pods of blended fragrance oil, the manufacturer's English FAQ says never to use water or oils meant for a water-based diffuser, and anything else voids the warranty.
Two reviews, read fairly. Dammarys, September 2026, five stars on Trustpilot: "The diffuser is absolutely fantastic! It looks beautiful, and the fragrance fills the whole house with an amazing scent." Neither she nor Trustpilot says which of the three models it was. Against that, Geert, four stars, September 2026, translated from Dutch: "Good app but expensive oils. The oils are expensive compared with other products and last only a short time at maximum use." That is what the £27-a-month end of the range feels like to somebody paying it. The profile stands at 4.7 from 281 reviews (September 2026), and not one reviewer on it is British.
Buying tip. Nine scents through the offer page and the Pro is added free; five gets the Lite and seven the Diffuser 2. Scentech describes the promotion as temporary.
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech
- 2Best value

Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2
about £132 (converted at checkout, September 2026)
9.0/10 Score
Pros
- Up to 65 m² on the manufacturer specification table, which is a through room with the kitchen open to it
- The same 39.5 dB as the Pro, quiet enough to leave running through an evening
- The 65 ml pod clicks in - Scentech calls it Effortless Switch - so there is no measuring and no decanting
- A dial on the device as well as the Bluetooth app, and a schedule per day
- About £61 less than the Pro, and free from seven scents rather than nine
Cons
- The same closed system: Scentech pods only, so a cupboard of essential oils stays in the cupboard and using them voids the warranty
- Mains only, with no battery, so it has to live within reach of a socket
- On the highest setting a pod is finished in about a month, the £27 end of the stated range
Who it is for. Nearly everyone the Pro is for, in a smaller house and for about £61 less. Up to 65 m² on the manufacturer's specification table covers a sitting room that opens into a kitchen, which is the layout most terraces and flats actually have, and the free-gift threshold sits at seven scents rather than nine - two pods less commitment for the same technology.
Why it is second and not first. Two figures. It is mains-only, so it lives within a cable's reach of a socket rather than wherever the hall needs it, and 65 m² is 35 m² less to work with once a staircase is part of the job. Everything else is the same machine: 39.5 dB, the same 65 ml pods at £27.00 or £0.42 a millilitre, about £13.50 a month on Scentech's twelve-hour example, and the same closed refill rule. The pod clicking straight in is the part you notice on a Tuesday - no jug, no funnel, no tank to wipe dry.
Worth knowing. On the highest setting Scentech says a pod lasts about a month, which is the top of the £9-to-£27 range rather than the middle of it. A schedule that runs only while people are at home is the cheapest thing anyone can do about that, and it is set once.
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech
- 3The only one that states a room size
Beurer LA 40 Aroma Electric Diffuser LED Table Lamp, White/Wood
£39.99
6.4/10 Score
Pros
- The only machine on this page whose seller commits to a room size: up to 20 m², in John Lewis's own description
- The largest water tank in this comparison at 180 ml, with an automatic switch-off after one, three or seven hours
- 4.5 out of 5 from 35 John Lewis reviews (9 September 2026), with a three-year guarantee included
Cons
- It asks for water-soluble aroma oil rather than any essential oil in the cupboard, which is a narrower rule than the ultrasonic reputation suggests
- No app, no schedule beyond the timer, and no published decibel figure for something designed to stand beside a pillow
Specifications. Ultrasonic: up to 180 ml of water and a few drops of water-soluble aroma oil. The retailer's own wording is a room of up to 20 m². The mist runs continuously or on a one, three or seven-hour timer that switches itself off, the light comes in six colours, there is no app, and no decibel figure is published anywhere. £39.99 at John Lewis (9 September 2026), 4.5 out of 5 from 35 reviews, three-year guarantee.
This is the honest first purchase for anyone who wants an essential oils diffuser in the strict sense. It is the only machine here whose seller will name a room size, and 20 m² is a real answer rather than a hedge: a bedroom, a study, one room with the door pushed to. Nothing about it reaches a landing, and Beurer does not claim it does, which is worth more than a bigger number nobody stands behind. What £39.99 buys is a bedside lamp with an aroma function, a timer long enough to cover an evening and three years of guarantee behind it. What it does not buy is a schedule, a noise figure for a machine that will spend its life within a metre of your head, or an end to the nightly business of filling a tank and emptying it again.
- 4Best for buying it in a shop
John Lewis Electric Diffuser
£50
5.8/10 Score
Pros
- 4.2 out of 5 from 103 John Lewis reviews (9 September 2026), by a distance the largest review base on this page
- A timer, a light cycling through seven colours, and a cut-off that stops the machine once the 100 ml tank has run dry
- Open to any essential oil already in the house, which the high street sells at £0.50 to £1.28 a millilitre
Cons
- A stated "Lifetime" of up to 45 minutes in the John Lewis specification, the shortest run per fill anywhere in this comparison
- No stated room size, no app and no decibel figure, so three of our seven criteria have nothing to read
Specifications. Ultrasonic. The retailer's own instructions are to fill the tank with 100 ml of clean water and add two to three drops of essential oil. Capacity 100 ml, "Lifetime: Up to 45 minutes" in the specification table, H15.3 × W9.3 × D9.3 cm, timer, automatic shut-off when the tank runs dry, seven-colour light, no app, coverage not stated. £50.00 at John Lewis (9 September 2026), 4.2 out of 5 from 103 reviews.
A hundred and three ratings is the only review base here big enough to count as a track record, and 4.2 is also the lowest average of the six British machines we looked at. Both belong in the same sentence: this is what £50 buys on a high street, from a shop with a returns counter in most cities, and buyers are moderately rather than wildly happy with it. Two cautions. The 45 minutes is how long the machine runs, not what the timer permits, and it is easy to read as the second thing. And no room size is named at any point on the listing, which for £50 is a good deal left unsaid. We cannot quote a buyer either way: the review text is served by a widget that never rendered for us.
- 5The longest stated mist per fill
Tisserand Aromatherapy Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffuser
£43
5.6/10 Score
Pros
- "4 to 5 hours of continuous mist" from a 100 ml fill in the brand's own wording, the longest stated run of any water machine here
- An intermittent setting that mists in thirty-second bursts, and a window that shows the water level
- Bought straight from a British aromatherapy brand that sells the matching oils as well, at £12.00 a bottle
Cons
- An average of 4.6 built on eleven ratings, one of them a single star: too small a base to lean on
- No stated room size, no app and no decibel figure, and £43.00 buys no schedule of any kind
Specifications. Ultrasonic, water plus essential oil. 100 ml capacity, "4 to 5 hours of continuous mist" per the brand, an intermittent or continuous mode, colour-changing light, water-level indicator, no app, coverage not stated. £43.00 on tisserand.com (9 September 2026), 4.6 out of 5 from eleven reviews on the brand's own shop.
Four to five hours from one fill is the longest stated mist on this page, and on a water machine that number does more work than the timer does: it is the difference between a diffuser that covers an evening and one that has stopped before the washing-up is done. With eleven ratings the count says more than the average, so here is the shape of it: ten five-star reviews and one single star. That one is dated 21 July 2026, comes from a verified buyer, and is not about the fragrance at all but about getting the lid off: "it is impossible for me to remove the cover in order to refill the reservoir! There is no easy way to grip it and twist to remove. I was also surprised to find that the reservoir held so little water." One person, named and dated, on the part of owning a water machine that nobody weighs up while standing in the shop.
- 6Best for refilling rarely
Stoneglow Modern Classics Perfume Mist Electric Diffuser
£65
5.2/10 Score
Pros
- John Lewis states that its 15 ml of oil lasts up to ten weeks, which turns refilling into something you do about four times a year
- Made in the UK, with a one-year guarantee
- 4.3 out of 5 from 13 John Lewis reviews (9 September 2026)
Cons
- Nowhere does the retailer say whether water is part of it, so the mechanism stays a surprise until the box is open
- Locked to Stoneglow oil at £0.73 a millilitre, with no room size, no hourly consumption and no decibel figure printed anywhere
Specifications. John Lewis calls it a "Perfume Mist Diffuser" and never says whether water is used, so we are not going to guess on its behalf. Capacity 15 ml, "Lifetime: Up to 10 weeks" in the John Lewis specification table, one-year guarantee, made in the UK, no app, no stated room size. £65.00 at John Lewis (9 September 2026), 4.3 out of 5 from 13 reviews.
It answers the strongest complaint about everything above it. A 15 ml bottle stated to last up to ten weeks is not a chore; it is four refills a year. The price of that is the same closed arrangement our top two have: the Modern Classics oil to match is £11.00 for 15 ml at John Lewis, so £0.73 a millilitre, sitting between a Scentech pod at £0.42 and Tisserand's 9 ml bottle at £1.28. Thirteen reviews, no published mechanism and no room size is a good deal to take on trust at £65, and what you are buying at that point is the design. That is a perfectly reasonable way to choose an object, as long as it is the choice you meant to make.
- 7
John Lewis Speckled Ceramic Electric Diffuser
£55
4.5/10 Score
Pros
- A speckled ceramic body that reads as a piece of pottery rather than an appliance
- A 100 ml capacity, coloured light in the base, mains power through a 24 V DC adaptor
- Sold by John Lewis, so returns and aftercare are as straightforward as they get here
Cons
- One review in total, which can tell you nothing about the product either way
- A "Lifetime" listed as up to 45 minutes, and care copy from the retailer restricting the appliance to "occasional household use only"
Specifications. The listing gives the mechanism away: capacity 100, formulation "Liquid", a "Lifetime" of up to 45 minutes, a 24 V DC mains adaptor, coloured light in the base, no app and no coverage figure. £55.00 at John Lewis (9 September 2026). It carries 5.0 from exactly one review, a number printed here only so that its size is visible.
Last place comes down to a single line in John Lewis's care copy: "This appliance is for occasional household use only." That is a job description rather than a fault, and it is to John Lewis's credit that it is printed at all. Bought as a ceramic object that scents a room when people are coming round, it will do that. Bought for twelve hours a day, the listing has already told you not to. It is also £5 more than the plainer John Lewis diffuser three places above it, with a hundred and two fewer reviews behind it.
The scoring, and what it rewards
Every machine is scored out of ten on seven weighted criteria: stated coverage in square metres (25%), how long it runs unattended on one fill, one pod or one charge (20%), cost per millilitre of what you are allowed to put in it (15%), noise (15%), control - app, dial, timer, schedules (10%), upkeep (10%), and the size of the public review base (5%).
Two of those weights explain how a pod machine comes first on a page about essential oils diffusers. Coverage and unattended running are exactly what a 100 ml tank cannot deliver, and together they are the difference between a device you can smell when you stand over it and a house that smells of something at seven in the evening. What the weights do not measure is freedom: an open machine takes any oil in the cupboard, costs nothing to abandon and owes no loyalty to a brand. That is a real advantage and it is not in the scores, so add it back yourself if it matters to you.
A figure nobody publishes cannot earn points, which is why several competent water-tank diffusers lose ground on coverage and noise without a word being said against them. Our sources are manufacturer specification tables, retailer pages at John Lewis & Partners, Tisserand's own shop, Holland & Barrett for oil prices, and public review platforms. No laboratory work sits behind any of it and none of the competing machines was in the house. This site is published by Scentech, which makes the first and second - see About this site and the full method, including the update log, on How we compare.
Reading an essential oils diffuser listing
Two machines share one word
An essential oil is a single plant distilled: lavender, sweet orange, eucalyptus. A fragrance oil is a blend, built to hold its shape in the air rather than to be one note. In the strict sense an essential oils diffuser is the first kind of machine - an ultrasonic tank you fill with water and dose with drops - and five of the seven here are that. The two at the top are pod machines: a sealed 65 ml bottle of blended fragrance oil, Scentech's own, and nothing else may go in them. Neither type is better in the abstract. They answer different questions, and most of the disappointment people report afterwards comes from having bought the machine that answered the other one.
Square metres, and the listings that leave them out
This is the first figure to look for and the one most often missing. Of the five non-Scentech machines here, exactly one names a room size. What the makers and retailers claim:
| The space | The claim | Who claims it |
|---|---|---|
| A bedroom, or a study with the door shut | up to 20 m² | Beurer LA 40, in John Lewis's wording |
| A single reception room, or a small flat | up to 40 m² | Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser |
| A through room with the kitchen open to it | up to 65 m² | Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 |
| A whole ground floor, or a hall and its stairwell | up to 100 m² | Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro |
Every figure there is a maker's or a retailer's own claim, made with no shared method, and not a measurement of ours. Where a page says nothing at all, assume one room with the door shut. The long version of this question works through what happens when the room is bigger than the number on the box.
Loose essential oils vs pods: cost per millilitre
The machine is paid for once. The oil is the subscription nobody signs, and it is where the two kinds of machine stop resembling each other. Prices read on 9 September 2026:
| What you buy | Price | Per ml |
|---|---|---|
| Scentech ScentPod 2.0, 65 ml (blended fragrance oil, pod machines only) | £27.00 | £0.42 |
| Miaroma lavender essential oil, 30 ml (Holland & Barrett) | £15.00 | £0.50 |
| Dr Organic lavender essential oil, 10 ml (Holland & Barrett) | £5.62 | £0.56 |
| Miaroma lavender essential oil, 10 ml (Holland & Barrett) | £6.80 | £0.68 |
| Stoneglow Modern Classics diffuser oil, 15 ml (John Lewis) | £11.00 | £0.73 |
| Tisserand organic lavender essential oil, 20 ml (Holland & Barrett) | £19.50 | £0.98 |
| Tisserand organic lavender essential oil, 9 ml (Holland & Barrett) | £11.50 | £1.28 |
Read that table with its caveat attached or it will mislead you. The rows are not the same product doing the same job. A water machine takes two or three drops per fill, so a 30 ml bottle survives months and its cost per hour is genuinely small; a pod machine burns neat oil the whole time it is running, which is why 65 ml is finished inside one to three months. And because no maker of a water-tank device publishes consumption per hour, there is no honest monthly figure for loose oil at all - a number offered to you elsewhere has been invented. What the table does say is that the cheapest millilitre on the page belongs to the system that will not take your own oils, and the dearest belongs to a nine-millilitre bottle of organic lavender. Choose the machine you want to live with first, then look at the millilitre.
How many drops, and what you are breathing
John Lewis instructs 100 ml of clean water and two to three drops of essential oil, which is the ratio that reaches the room: overwhelmingly water, faintly oil. Beurer asks specifically for water-soluble aroma oil, a narrower rule than any oil you like. Tisserand sells its own oils beside the machine at £12.00 a bottle. A pod machine does none of this - it shears neat oil into a dry mist with air alone - which is why the same room needs a completely different amount of liquid depending on which type is standing in it.
How long it runs before somebody has to do something
The published numbers here are further apart than any other figure on the page. John Lewis lists "Up to 45 minutes" for both of its own diffusers. Tisserand states four to five hours per 100 ml fill. The Beurer's tank supports a one, three or seven-hour timer. Stoneglow's 15 ml of oil is stated at up to ten weeks. A Scentech pod is stated at one to three months, and the Pro will run four days off its battery. If the point of the purchase is that a house smells of something without anybody tending it, this line matters more than the price does.
Decibels
Nobody keeps a machine that hisses at them. Scentech publishes 59.5 dB for the Smart Aroma Diffuser and 39.5 dB for the Diffuser 2 and the Pro. Not one of the five water-tank machines here publishes a decibel figure. That is not evidence that they are loud; it is evidence that you cannot find out until it is on the bedside table, which is its own answer for a bedroom.
The tank: limescale, damp and the daily wipe
With water there is a routine: fill, empty, wipe dry, and descale if you live in a hard-water part of the country. It is worth doing rather than skipping. The US Environmental Protection Agency advises emptying and drying the tank of a home humidifier every day, because ultrasonic devices can throw micro-organisms and minerals from the water into the air, and an ultrasonic diffuser works on the same principle. Then there is the moisture itself, which is a fair point against a water machine in a flat that already has condensation on the bedroom window in February. A pod machine puts no water into the room at all; the trade is that the pod is the only thing you may put into the machine.
Children, pets and ventilation
Keep the device and the oil bottles out of reach of children, run the room ventilated rather than sealed, and leave a pet the option of walking out. Scentech states that its own oils are IFRA-compliant, which is the manufacturer's statement rather than a finding of ours. Nothing here is medical advice and we hold no measurements; if a scent brings on a headache in anybody, switch it off and try another. The practical guide to running one goes through dosing, timing and cleaning in more detail.

What the same twelve hours a day cost, by source of scent
| What you buy | Price and stated life | Per millilitre | Per month at twelve hours a day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scentech ScentPod 2.0, 65 ml, in a pod machine | £27.00; one to three months a pod, well over two at twelve hours a day on a medium setting (Scentech) | £0.42 | about £13.50 (£9-£27 depending on setting and hours) |
| Miaroma lavender essential oil, 30 ml, in a water tank | £15.00; two or three drops per 100 ml fill, consumption per hour not stated by any maker | £0.50 | cannot be calculated |
| Tisserand organic lavender, 9 ml, in a water tank | £11.50; dosed the same way, in drops | £1.28 | cannot be calculated |
| Stoneglow Modern Classics diffuser oil, 15 ml | £11.00; "Lifetime: Up to 10 weeks" in the John Lewis specification | £0.73 | about £4.80 (arithmetic on the stated ten weeks) |
| Yankee Candle Original Large Jar | £29.99 for up to 150 hours (yankeecandle.co.uk) | not comparable per ml | about £72 (arithmetic) |
| Jo Malone London Lime Basil & Mandarin, 200 g | £56.00 for a stated burn time of 45 hours (John Lewis) | not comparable per ml | about £446 (arithmetic) |
| Reed diffuser | no stated run time per hour and no published consumption | varies by brand | cannot be calculated |
Order five scents through Scentech's offer page and the Smart Aroma Diffuser is added free; at seven it is the Diffuser 2 and at nine the Pro. It is added automatically only through that page. Scentech describes the promotion as temporary. The pound figures here were read in a United Kingdom shop session on 9 September 2026 and are conversions of euro prices. 30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout
Advertisement See the offer at ScentechQuestions people search before buying
How many drops of essential oil go in a diffuser?
Whatever the machine's own instructions say, and they vary more than you would expect. John Lewis tells you to fill its diffusers with 100 ml of clean water and add two to three drops of essential oil. Beurer asks for a few drops of water-soluble aroma oil in a tank of up to 180 ml, which is a narrower requirement than any oil in the cupboard. Tisserand sells oils to match its own machine. More drops is not more scent for longer: the mist carries what it carries, and a tank that empties in 45 minutes empties in 45 minutes either way.
Can you put essential oils in any diffuser?
No, and this is the most expensive assumption in the category. A water-tank diffuser is built for drops in water, and the Beurer specifies water-soluble aroma oil rather than neat essential oil. A pod machine is built for neat, blended oil of a particular viscosity: the Scentech models take their own sealed 65 ml pods, the manufacturer's English FAQ says never to use water or oils meant for a water-based diffuser, and other oils fall outside the one-year warranty. Read the refill rule before you read the price.
How long should an essential oils diffuser run for?
Usually the machine decides. Two of the seven here stop after about 45 minutes because that is when the tank is empty; the Tisserand states four to five hours per fill; the Beurer offers a one, three or seven-hour timer. Common guidance for ultrasonic diffusers is sessions of twenty to sixty minutes rather than continuous running, which is roughly what a 45-minute tank allows anyway. A pod machine is limited by the pod instead - Scentech states one to three months per 65 ml pod, or well over two months at twelve hours a day on a medium setting.
Will an essential oils diffuser scent a whole house?
Only if its maker says so, and most say nothing at all. One water-tank machine on this page names a room size, and that size is 20 m². Scentech claims 40, 65 and 100 m² for its three models on their specification tables, and it advertises coverage of ten to twenty-five times a reed diffuser's, which is the manufacturer's own arithmetic and not something we have verified. In a room larger than the number on the box, what you get is a machine you can smell beside and not from the sofa. Where no figure is published, treat it as a one-room device.
Why does the room stop smelling of anything after a few days?
Because you stop noticing it before it stops working, which is why people turn a diffuser up and their visitors flinch. Scentech's own product copy describes spreading scent evenly "while helping prevent scent fatigue", which is the manufacturer's claim rather than a finding of ours. The practical answers cost nothing: run it on a schedule instead of continuously, keep the door open so the air moves through the room, and change scent every couple of pods rather than buying a stronger one.
Is it safe to leave a diffuser on overnight with children or pets in the house?
We have no test data of our own and there is no British consumer test to point you at, so this is common sense rather than evidence. Keep the device and the oil bottles out of reach of children, ventilate the room rather than sealing it, and leave a pet a way out instead of shutting it in. On any water-tank model the standing water deserves attention overnight: the US Environmental Protection Agency advises emptying and drying a home humidifier's tank daily, because ultrasonic devices can push micro-organisms and minerals from the water into the air. If a scent makes anyone in the house feel unwell, switch it off.
Has Which? tested essential oil diffusers?
Not that we could find in September 2026, and nothing from Stiftung Warentest or the Dutch Consumentenbond either. Take that as the limit of our search rather than a verdict on the archive: part of the Which? library sits behind a subscription we did not hold. The practical use of it is that a "best tested" flash on a diffuser box is worth a question - tested by whom, when, and against what? Everything on this page comes from published specifications and public customer reviews, and we compared rather than tested.
Practical questions before you order
Will a Scentech order actually ship to a UK address?
Not on the day this page was written, so please check before you fill a basket. Scentech ships from the Netherlands and publishes no UK delivery time or shipping cost anywhere on its site; when we entered a British address in its checkout on 9 September 2026 the delivery step returned "Shipping not available". Availability and cost for your address are shown at checkout, so get as far as that step first. This page will be updated when it changes.
Why is every Scentech price on this page marked "converted at checkout"?
Because those pounds are Shopify's live conversion of a euro price rather than a fixed UK price list. On 9 September 2026 the conversion produced £27.00 for a scent, £101 for the Smart Aroma Diffuser, £132 for the Diffuser 2 and £193 for the Pro. Those figures move without anybody editing the shop, so treat ours as a dated snapshot and read the number at checkout.
Can I use my own essential oils in the Pro or the Diffuser 2?
No. Both take sealed Scentech ScentPods of blended fragrance oil, the manufacturer's English FAQ says never to use water or oils meant for a water-based diffuser, and anything else puts the machine outside its one-year warranty. If you already own a shelf of oils, that is a strong reason to buy one of the water-tank machines further down this page instead.
How many scents do I need before the diffuser is free?
Five for the Smart Aroma Diffuser, seven for the Diffuser 2 and nine for the Pro, with a Mystery Scent at three. The device is added to the basket automatically only when the order goes through Scentech's offer page rather than an ordinary product page. Nine scents is a lot of scent at £27.00 each, so the ladder is worth doing the sums on rather than climbing by reflex.
How long does one pod last?
Scentech states one to three months per 65 ml pod, depending on hours and intensity: well over two months at twelve hours a day on a medium setting, and still about a month at sixteen hours a day on the highest. That is the difference between roughly £9 and £27 a month in oil, which is why the schedule is worth setting rather than leaving the machine running at full tilt.
What if a scent turns out not to suit me?
Scentech gives 30 days from receipt to cancel and a further 14 days to send things back, refunds the full order amount including standard shipping, and states that return postage is on them unless stated otherwise. One diffuser may be tried, and no more than 10 ml of one ScentPod. Buy one of the other machines here and you are under that retailer's terms instead: John Lewis and Tisserand each publish their own.
Does the Scentech app need wi-fi or an account?
Neither one. The link is Bluetooth, so nothing joins your wi-fi and nothing asks you to register, with the catch that the phone has to be in the same room to change a setting. Anything already scheduled carries on running inside the diffuser itself. One warning: the app stores also list something called "Scent Tech", which is not it. The official app is Scentech.
What buyers write about our number one
The diffuser is absolutely fantastic! It looks beautiful, and the fragrance fills the whole house with an amazing scent.
Outstanding system. Very nice flavours. Very convenient to allow control over the app. I recommend!
Good app but expensive oils. The oils are expensive compared with other products and last only a short time at maximum use. (translated from Dutch)
In conclusion
The Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro is our pick for 2026: up to 100 m² and 39.5 dB on the manufacturer's specification table, a battery stated at four days, no water anywhere, and about £13.50 a month in oil at twelve hours a day. Buy it for reach and quiet rather than for freedom, because it takes Scentech pods and no essential oils. The Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 does the same job over 65 m² for about £61 less and is the better buy in most houses. And if you want an essential oils diffuser in the strict sense - your own oils, your own bottles, under £40 - the Beurer LA 40 is the only one here that names the size of room it was built for.
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech